Body of Work: Figural Work from the Permanent Collection

May 24, 2012 - September 30, 2012

The exhibition Body of Work: Figural Work from the Permanent Collection will inaugurate the state-of-the-art Charles M. Bair Family Gallery, which has just been completed at the Yellowstone Art Museum.

In this exhibition, the visitor will discover in microcosm the great diversity of approaches to the figure in modern and contemporary art. No single style or mode of art-making characterizes the art of the past few decades. This explosive multiplicity of approaches is reflected in the YAM’s permanent collection, and every work in this exhibition is drawn from the Yellowstone Art Museum’s unparalleled permanent collections. Body of Work includes art in many different media and will comprise everything from straightforward portraits to narrative, conceptual, and expressionistic treatments of the human figure.

Collection artists who will be included are Harold Altman, Lela Autio, Rudy Autio, John Buck, Freeman Butts, Michael Crummett, Newell Darlington, Robert De Niro, Sr., Robert DeWeese, Joe de Yong, Edith Freeman, Leroy Green, Elizabeth Guheen, Frances Hynes, Isabelle Johnson, Earl Kerkam, Beth Lo, Wanda Mock, Yasumasa Morimura, Vik Muniz, Takashi Murakami, Susan Newell, Gwytha Pring, Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Tom Rippon, Robert Rohyl, Joe Shannon, Joseph Henry Sharp, George Spaventa, Joseph Stefanelli, Bill Stockton, Theodore Waddell, James Weeks, C. Whidden, and Jessie Wilber.

This exhibition celebrates the artists represented in the collection and the donors who have made the collection possible.


Thomas Minckler & Abigail Hornik, Kris & Larry Carpenter, F. Douglas & Karla Carr, Juni & Ray Clark, The Michael & Karen Fried Community Education Fund, John W. & Carol L. H. Green, Wayne & Traci Hirsch, Ted & Bess Lovec / American Title & Escrow, Gary & Melissa Oakland, Dr. Donald & Carol Roberts, Linda Snider, David Stensrud, Susan Sullivan & Steve Zabawa, Al Winegardner


Kevin & Karla Stenberg


David & Jinx BrownMax & Jeanine Griffin, Randy & Stacey Jacobs, Jon Lodge, Linda Shelhamer & Stephen Haraden, Sue Stanaway, Steve & Pauline Tostenrud


James & Claudia Baker, Gene & Joy Culver, Valeria Jeffries, Gareld & Barbara Krieg, Lynne & Jay Montague

Also sponsored by former members of the Yellowstone Art Museum Board of Trustees:

Nancy Ott, in memory of Butch Ott
Jeffrey B. Anderson & Elizabeth Scanlin
Donna Forbes
Kay Foster & Mike Mathew
Jane & Terry Indreland
Pat Neary

  2011-2012 Exhibition Season Sponsor